New Resource: Teachingbooks.net

Teachingbooks.net
is now available to all students, faculty, and staff.  While Teachingbooks.net is primarily intended to support literacy in K-12 classrooms and will be especially useful for teacher education students and faculty, it will also be appreciated by anyone who reads children’s and young adult literature.

Features include:

• Guides and teaching resources for thousands of titles, including information about reading levels and genere
• Streaming video of author interviews filmed in the authors’ homes and studios
• Articles about teaching literacy
• Common Core literacy connections
• Reader’s Theater scripts
• Author name pronunciations
• Links to author websites

Off-campus users will log in with their regular username (before the @catamount or @wcu) and password.

Questions? Contact:
Beth McDonough, Ed.D.
Associate Professor
Research and Instruction Librarian for the College of Education and Allied Professions

EBSCOhost Databases Upgrade PDFs

Hunter Library is excited to announce that our EBSCOhost databases--including Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, and Historical Abstracts, to name just a few-- have received an enhancement for viewing PDF files. If you are viewing a single article, you can now navigate from that single article view to the contents of the entire journal issue or to all available volumes and issues for that journal, from one screen. The enhanced viewer specifically includes:
• TOC column with instant access to citations with title, author and subject detail
• Hyperlinked access to full- text issue contents, by article or chapter titles
• A convenient list of hyperlinked thumbnails to illustrations
• Expand/collapse arrow to open/hide illustration thumbnails, TOC columns, etc.
Please note that this enhancement requires the most recent version of the Adobe Reader to be installed. Adobe Reader is available for free and can be downloaded from this URL: http://get.adobe.com/reader/.

Database Access Problems

Hunter Library has been experiencing technical problems with database access. Links in our research guides and some handouts may not work or only have intermittent access. If you experience a problem accessing a database, please check Hunter Library's subject list or A-Z list on our main page or go to http://www.wcu.edu/1602.asp.

Library System Unavailable Thursday, January 8

On Thursday, January 8, the Library Catalog and any off-campus access to the library databases and electronic journals will be unavailable. If you need assistance, contact a librarian , (828) 227-7465 or Toll-free: (866) 928-5424 between 8:00-5:00 on January 8.

To see if Hunter Library owns a particular item, use WorldCat, http://www.worldcat.org. For database access, contact the Library Reference Desk , 1-866-928-5424 , for information about accessing our databases available through NC LIVE , http://www.nclive.org.

New Database: The Times Digital Archive

The Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985, includes every page as published from 200 years of The Times (London). The Times, often referred to as the "world's newspaper of record," covers international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. Users may search the full text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, obituaries, and advertising. Content, including both pictures and text, may be searched or browsed by category, author, date, title, and more.

New EBSCOhost Interface Coming Soon!

Hunter Library is excited to announce the imminent arrival of a new look and feel for our EBSCOhost databases. In just a few days, EBSCOhost will roll out their latest interface. This interface is designed to make searching EBSCO databases easier and quicker while providing individual users with the flexibility to customize many options.

New Database: IPA Source

IPA Source is for those interested in the correct and knowledgeable performance of vocal literature. The database provides the largest resource for International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Accurate word-for-word translations are available in PDF format.

Remember Hunter Library over your break!

Will you be working on a research project over Thanksgiving Break? You can access article databases such as Academic Search Premier or JSTOR from home by using your 92#!

Not sure where to start? The library provides online Research Guides by Subject.